Brooklin Drops Contest Against Host Lakers In Peterborough

By Sam Laskaris

The Brooklin Lacrosse Club has completed its season-opening busy week which consisted of three games in five nights.
And the Brooklin side is still seeking its first victory of the 2019 Major Series Lacrosse (MSL) campaign.

Brooklin came rather close to pulling off an upset on Thursday night but still suffered its third consecutive loss, dropping a 10-9 decision to the host Peterborough Lakers. That contest was staged at the Evinrude Centre in Peterborough. With the victory the Lakers improved their record to a perfect 4-0 this season. Besides being the two-time defending MSL champions, the Lakers are also back-to-back national champs, having won the Mann Cup in 2017 and ’18.

Against a youthful Brooklin squad the Lakers needed a late goal to seal a victory. They scored the winning goal with just 1:43 remaining in the match, while they were enjoying a two-man powerplay. Brooklin’s Dawson Theede and Tyler Gaulton were both in the penalty box at the time for separate holding infractions.

Peterborough held a slim 3-2 lead after the opening 20 minutes and extended their lead to 9-6 after the second period.
Brooklin rallied in the third, scoring three unanswered goals before the Lakers’ Cory Vitarelli popped in the winner.

Both Connor Kearnan and Austin Murphy continued their solid early-season play for Brooklin as they both scored a pair of goals versus the Lakers. Kearnan, who also plays for the San Diego Seals of the National Lacrosse League, has netted six goals in his first three matches with Brooklin this year.

Murphy, who also notched four assists versus Peterborough for a six-point game, has scored four goals in his three matches for Brooklin now. Theede, Sean Darroch, Travis Getz, Mitch Wilde and Justin Robinson also scored for Brooklin in Thursday’s outing.

Brooklin is now off until next Wednesday (June 12) when it will host the Oakville Rock. The opening faceoff for that contest, which will be staged at Whitby’s Iroquois Park Sports Centre, is scheduled for 8 p.m.