Redmen Open Busy Run with a Win

The Brooklin Redmen kicked off a four game in seven night run with a 10-8 win over the visiting Cobourg Kodiaks tonight. This stretch of games will include two road games (Thursday in Brampton and Monday in Oakville) and a visit from the league leading Peterborough Lakers next Wednesday. Fans were happy to see former Redmen defender Dan Ladouceur on the bench as he filled in for co-coach Brad MacArthur who is in Israel for the World Field Lacrosse Championships along with Graeme Hossack, Mark Matthews and Sean Darroch. 

The visitors opened the scoring but Adrian Sorichetti answered just seconds later with his first of three on the night. The opening frame ended with a last second goal from Curtis Knight following a strategic Redmen time-out which sent the teams to break with the Redmen up 5-2. 

Sorichetti answered the bell very early in the second to stretch the lead. By the time the period was barely four minutes old the Redmen added two more and chased starter David Diruscio from the Kodiaks net in favour of back-up Kevin Orleman. This move seemed to settle the Kodiaks down as they went on to score three times following the swap and it was 9-6 for the Redmen late in the third. Late in the middle frame Joey Cupido closed his hand on the ball in the crease that resulted in a Redmen penalty shot which was not successful.

Chris Cloutier decided to help his mates and with two consecutive goals he drew the visitors to within one goal as the clock showed Brooklin 9 Cobourg 8 with five minutes remaining. The "TSN turning point" on this night would be a tremendous save from Redmen starter Zach Higgins followed almost immediately by an Austin Shanks goal off a rebound that sealed the deal and gave the Redmen a 10-8 win. 

Andrew Ecclestone and Kyle Kennery let the teams play as they gave Cobourg 8 minutes on 4 infraction and Brooklin 2 minutes on 1 infraction.  The Redmen scored one on the extra man. Scorers for the Redmen were Sorichetti with three, Lintner with a pair and singles to Jackson, Knight, Keenan, Shanks and O'Connor.